SamLab vs SCC Soft Computer
SoftLab · Cloud, locally hosted, or a hybrid of both (SCC's own words)
The short verdict
SCC Soft Computer's SoftLab is an enterprise laboratory information system that SCC says covers the whole laboratory life cycle from specimen collection to billing, offered cloud, locally hosted or hybrid. If you run a hospital or reference laboratory network, that is the scale it is built for. SamLab is built for the independent clinical laboratory: offline-first, priced on a public page, installed in an afternoon.
In the vendor’s words: SCC describes SoftLab as "one of the few laboratory solutions covering the entire laboratory life cycle, from specimen collection to billing."
SamLab vs SCC Soft Computer — side by side
SamLab’s column reflects our published plans. SCC Soft Computer’s column is what the vendor states on its own site, read on 2026-09-17; where the vendor does not say, the cell says so.
| Factor | SamLab | SCC Soft Computer |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment | Offline-first desktop with cloud sync | Cloud, locally hosted or hybrid (vendor statement) |
| Works through an internet outage | Yes — registration, billing, results and reports keep running | Not stated by the vendor; depends on the deployment chosen |
| Pricing model | Yearly subscription in your own currency | Not published - quote through SCC sales |
| Public, transparent pricing | Yes — every plan price is on the pricing page | No public pricing page found (checked 2026-09-17) |
| Analyzer interfacing | ASTM, HL7 and serial/TCP interfaces with IQC (Pro and above) | Yes - "consistent connectivity to laboratory instruments, robotics, and other information systems" with an "extensive interface library" |
| Accreditation-ready records (ISO 15189 style) | Reference ranges with units, verifier identity, retained amendment history, specimen traceability | Not stated on the pages read; specimen tracking and management reporting are named |
| Where your data lives | On your own machine first; encrypted off-site backup and export | Depends on deployment: SCC cloud, your own servers, or both |
| Free trial on your own data | 7-day free trial, no card | Not stated - demonstrations through sales |
| Typical laboratory | Independent and hospital-attached clinical laboratories | Hospital and reference laboratories, "inside and outside of hospitals", multi-site networks |
An honest read
No software wins on everything. Here is where each genuinely leads.
Where SCC Soft Computer wins
- A deployment choice SamLab does not offer at this scale: cloud, locally hosted or hybrid, in SCC's own words
- Built for multi-site consolidation across hospital and reference-laboratory networks, with an interface library SCC describes as extensive
- A track record SCC states as more than 350 LIS contracts servicing over 1,000 sites across thirteen or more countries
Where SamLab wins
- Keeps registering, billing, entering results and printing through an internet outage - the database is on your own machine
- Every plan price is on the public pricing page, in your own currency, with a 7-day trial on your own data and no card
- Sized for an independent clinical laboratory: installed on one Windows PC in an afternoon rather than an enterprise implementation
Pick SCC Soft Computer if…
You run a hospital or reference-laboratory network that needs multi-site consolidation, a large instrument interface library and an enterprise implementation team behind it.
Pick SamLab if…
You run an independent clinical laboratory that must keep working when the connection drops, wants to see the price before talking to anyone, and would rather install than implement.
What SCC Soft Computer charges
Not published (checked 2026-09-17) - SCC sells through its sales team
Vendor contact page · checked 2026-09-17SamLab’s pricing is public
A yearly subscription in your own currency, with no onboarding fee and a 7-day free trial. Every plan price is on the pricing page.
SamLab vs SCC Soft Computer — FAQs
Is SoftLab cloud-based or on-premise?+
SCC states that SoftLab can be deployed in the cloud, locally hosted, or in a hybrid of the two. Which one a given laboratory gets is decided during the sale, so ask about outage behaviour for the option you are offered. SamLab has one model: the database is on your own machine and cloud sync is a layer on top.
How does SCC's instrument connectivity compare with SamLab's?+
SCC describes an extensive interface library for various vendors and analyzers, plus robotics. SamLab ships driver profiles for the instruments an independent clinical laboratory actually runs - hematology, biochemistry, immunoassay, coagulation, urine and electrolytes over ASTM, HL7 and serial - and the link is one-way, results in.
What does SoftLab cost compared with SamLab?+
SCC does not publish pricing; it is quoted through sales, and we do not estimate a figure we cannot substantiate. SamLab publishes every plan price on its pricing page in your own currency, and the 7-day trial needs no card. Ask SCC for a written quote and compare like with like.
Sources for what we say about SCC Soft Computer
Already decided to move? What changes when a laboratory leaves SCC Soft Computer for SamLab
Keep comparing
Vendor details are taken from each vendor’s own public website on the date shown and may change. We compare on published capabilities, not on internals we cannot verify. Confirm current features and pricing directly with the vendor and in a trial. SamLab details reflect our published plans. Vendor names are used only to identify the products compared.
Try the whole lab, free for 7 days.
No card. No catch. Run SamLab on your own data — online or offline — and feel the difference before you pay anything.