Looking for a SCC Soft Computer alternative?
SoftLab is cloud, locally hosted, or a hybrid of both (SCC's own words). Here is what changes if your lab moves to SamLab, what to carry across, and when staying with SCC Soft Computer is the right call.
Four questions, whichever system you run today
What happens when the connection drops
Any LIS decision starts here. SamLab keeps registration, results, reports and billing running on your own machine; SCC Soft Computer states its deployment as "Cloud, locally hosted, or a hybrid of both (SCC's own words)" — ask what its outage behaviour is for the option you are offered.
How the price is structured
SCC Soft Computer: Not published (checked 2026-09-17) - SCC sells through its sales team. SamLab: a yearly subscription quoted in your own currency, every plan on the public pricing page. Compare like with like over three years, not one.
Who holds the data at exit
Before you leave any system, get its export in writing. In SamLab the database is a file on your own machine, and the standard backup is a ZIP that restores without a passphrase.
Who answers when something breaks
Ask both vendors which hours support covers in your time zone and whether it is included. SamLab support is included in every plan.
The rows that move when you switch
SCC Soft Computer column as published by the vendor, read on 2026-09-17. The full table is on the comparison page.
| Factor | SCC Soft Computer | SamLab |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment | Cloud, locally hosted or hybrid (vendor statement) | Offline-first desktop with cloud sync |
| Works through an internet outage | Not stated by the vendor; depends on the deployment chosen | Yes — registration, billing, results and reports keep running |
| Pricing model | Not published - quote through SCC sales | Yearly subscription in your own currency |
| Public, transparent pricing | No public pricing page found (checked 2026-09-17) | Yes — every plan price is on the pricing page |
| Where your data lives | Depends on deployment: SCC cloud, your own servers, or both | On your own machine first; encrypted off-site backup and export |
| Free trial on your own data | Not stated - demonstrations through sales | 7-day free trial, no card |
Three things to do before the first live day
- 1Get an export from your current software — patients, doctors, rate list, outstanding dues — one sheet per master, and check what your contract says about your data.
- 2Pick one cut-off date the whole lab knows: bills before it stay in the old system, bills from it are in SamLab.
- 3Run the 7-day trial on your own exported data first, so the first live day is the second time you see your patients in it.
Stay with SCC Soft Computer if
You run a hospital or reference-laboratory network that needs multi-site consolidation, a large instrument interface library and an enterprise implementation team behind it.
Move to SamLab if
You run an independent clinical laboratory that must keep working when the connection drops, wants to see the price before talking to anyone, and would rather install than implement.
Before you switch
Is SamLab a SCC Soft Computer alternative for a small laboratory?
SCC Soft Computer's SoftLab is an enterprise laboratory information system that SCC says covers the whole laboratory life cycle from specimen collection to billing, offered cloud, locally hosted or hybrid. If you run a hospital or reference laboratory network, that is the scale it is built for. SamLab is built for the independent clinical laboratory: offline-first, priced on a public page, installed in an afternoon.
Can I bring my data from SoftLab into SamLab?
Masters — patients, doctors, rate lists, outstanding balances — come across from an export of your current system. Migration is a hands-on service with a written cut-off date, not a self-serve importer; the migration page says exactly what moves and what does not.
How does SamLab pricing differ from SCC Soft Computer?
SCC Soft Computer: Not published (checked 2026-09-17) - SCC sells through its sales team. SamLab publishes every plan on its pricing page — a yearly subscription in your own currency — and the 7-day trial needs no card.
Sources for what we say about SCC Soft Computer · read on 2026-09-17
Vendor details are taken from each vendor’s own public website on the date shown and may change. We compare on published capabilities, not on internals we cannot verify. Confirm current features and pricing directly with the vendor and in a trial. SamLab details reflect our published plans. Vendor names are used only to identify the products compared.
Try the whole lab, free for 7 days.
No card. No catch. Run SamLab on your own data — online or offline — and feel the difference before you pay anything.