Looking for a Dendi alternative?
Dendi LIS is cloud-native, browser-based (the vendor's own wording). Here is what changes if your lab moves to SamLab, what to carry across, and when staying with Dendi is the right call.
Four questions, whichever system you run today
What happens when the connection drops
Any LIS decision starts here. SamLab keeps registration, results, reports and billing running on your own machine; Dendi states its deployment as "Cloud-native, browser-based (the vendor's own wording)" — ask what its outage behaviour is for the option you are offered.
How the price is structured
Dendi: Published as a starting figure: the vendor states "a simple, fixed, monthly subscription based on the quantity and types of integrations", with a startup option at $2,200/month and a quote for anything beyond it (checked 2026-09-17). SamLab: a yearly subscription quoted in your own currency, every plan on the public pricing page. Compare like with like over three years, not one.
Who holds the data at exit
Before you leave any system, get its export in writing. In SamLab the database is a file on your own machine, and the standard backup is a ZIP that restores without a passphrase.
Who answers when something breaks
Ask both vendors which hours support covers in your time zone and whether it is included. SamLab support is included in every plan.
The rows that move when you switch
Dendi column as published by the vendor, read on 2026-09-17. The full table is on the comparison page.
| Factor | Dendi | SamLab |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment | Cloud-native, browser-based (vendor statement) | Offline-first desktop with cloud sync |
| Works through an internet outage | Not stated by the vendor; the platform is described as cloud-native and browser-accessed | Yes — registration, billing, results and reports keep running |
| Pricing model | Fixed monthly subscription priced on the quantity and types of integrations | Yearly subscription in your own currency |
| Public, transparent pricing | Partly — a starting monthly figure is published; the rest is quoted | Yes — every plan price is on the pricing page |
| Where your data lives | Vendor cloud; the vendor offers API access to your data | On your own machine first; encrypted off-site backup and export |
| Free trial on your own data | Not stated — the site asks you to request a demo | 7-day free trial, no card |
Three things to do before the first live day
- 1Get an export from your current software — patients, doctors, rate list, outstanding dues — one sheet per master, and check what your contract says about your data.
- 2Pick one cut-off date the whole lab knows: bills before it stay in the old system, bills from it are in SamLab.
- 3Run the 7-day trial on your own exported data first, so the first live day is the second time you see your patients in it.
Stay with Dendi if
You run a clinical or reference laboratory in the United States that needs EHR integrations, insurance billing and an open API, and your connectivity is dependable enough that a browser-only system is no risk.
Move to SamLab if
You run an independent laboratory that must keep working when the connection drops, want the price before the sales call, and would rather install than implement.
Before you switch
Is SamLab a Dendi alternative for a small laboratory?
Dendi is a cloud-native laboratory information system for clinical and reference laboratories in the United States, with integrations to standard EHRs, instrument interfacing, billing tools and an open API. It also publishes a starting monthly figure, which most of this category does not. SamLab is built for the independent laboratory that has to keep working when the connection drops.
Can I bring my data from Dendi LIS into SamLab?
Masters — patients, doctors, rate lists, outstanding balances — come across from an export of your current system. Migration is a hands-on service with a written cut-off date, not a self-serve importer; the migration page says exactly what moves and what does not.
How does SamLab pricing differ from Dendi?
Dendi: Published as a starting figure: the vendor states "a simple, fixed, monthly subscription based on the quantity and types of integrations", with a startup option at $2,200/month and a quote for anything beyond it (checked 2026-09-17). SamLab publishes every plan on its pricing page — a yearly subscription in your own currency — and the 7-day trial needs no card.
Sources for what we say about Dendi · read on 2026-09-17
Vendor details are taken from each vendor’s own public website on the date shown and may change. We compare on published capabilities, not on internals we cannot verify. Confirm current features and pricing directly with the vendor and in a trial. SamLab details reflect our published plans. Vendor names are used only to identify the products compared.
Try the whole lab, free for 7 days.
No card. No catch. Run SamLab on your own data — online or offline — and feel the difference before you pay anything.