Looking for a ClinLab alternative?
ClinLab laboratory information system is on-premise Windows PC network, SQL based; optional web order entry and result viewing (vendor). Here is what changes if your lab moves to SamLab, what to carry across, and when staying with ClinLab is the right call.
Four questions, whichever system you run today
What happens when the connection drops
Any LIS decision starts here. SamLab keeps registration, results, reports and billing running on your own machine; ClinLab states its deployment as "On-premise Windows PC network, SQL based; optional web order entry and result viewing (vendor)" — ask what its outage behaviour is for the option you are offered.
How the price is structured
ClinLab: Not published — no price appears on the vendor site (checked 2026-09-03). SamLab: a yearly subscription quoted in your own currency, every plan on the public pricing page. Compare like with like over three years, not one.
Who holds the data at exit
Before you leave any system, get its export in writing. In SamLab the database is a file on your own machine, and the standard backup is a ZIP that restores without a passphrase.
Who answers when something breaks
Ask both vendors which hours support covers in your time zone and whether it is included. SamLab support is included in every plan.
The rows that move when you switch
ClinLab column as published by the vendor, read on 2026-09-03. The full table is on the comparison page.
| Factor | ClinLab | SamLab |
|---|---|---|
| Deployment | On-premise Windows PC network, SQL based; optional web module | Offline-first desktop with cloud sync |
| Works through an internet outage | On-premise, so local work continues; not stated by the vendor | Yes — registration, billing, results and reports keep running |
| Pricing model | Not stated on the vendor site | Yearly subscription in your own currency |
| Public, transparent pricing | Not published | Yes — every plan price is on the pricing page |
| Where your data lives | Your own server | On your own machine first; encrypted off-site backup and export |
| Free trial on your own data | Not stated on the vendor site | 7-day free trial, no card |
Three things to do before the first live day
- 1Get an export from your current software — patients, doctors, rate list, outstanding dues — one sheet per master, and check what your contract says about your data.
- 2Pick one cut-off date the whole lab knows: bills before it stay in the old system, bills from it are in SamLab.
- 3Run the 7-day trial on your own exported data first, so the first live day is the second time you see your patients in it.
Stay with ClinLab if
you are a US laboratory that needs order-and-results interfaces to specific national reference laboratories and an EMR package on a local network.
Move to SamLab if
you want a desktop-first system with cloud sync, built-in analyzer QC, a published price and support outside the United States.
Before you switch
Is SamLab a ClinLab alternative for a small laboratory?
ClinLab is a long-standing US Windows laboratory system with real-time instrument interfaces, bidirectional links to reference laboratories and an optional EMR package, run on the laboratory’s own PC network. SamLab is also desktop-first, adds cloud sync, analyzer QC and published pricing, and is sold worldwide. The closest pair in this set; the differences are sync, transparency and reach.
Can I bring my data from ClinLab laboratory information system into SamLab?
Masters — patients, doctors, rate lists, outstanding balances — come across from an export of your current system. Migration is a hands-on service with a written cut-off date, not a self-serve importer; the migration page says exactly what moves and what does not.
How does SamLab pricing differ from ClinLab?
ClinLab: Not published — no price appears on the vendor site (checked 2026-09-03). SamLab publishes every plan on its pricing page — a yearly subscription in your own currency — and the 7-day trial needs no card.
Sources for what we say about ClinLab · read on 2026-09-03
Vendor details are taken from each vendor’s own public website on the date shown and may change. We compare on published capabilities, not on internals we cannot verify. Confirm current features and pricing directly with the vendor and in a trial. SamLab details reflect our published plans. Vendor names are used only to identify the products compared.
Try the whole lab, free for 7 days.
No card. No catch. Run SamLab on your own data — online or offline — and feel the difference before you pay anything.